Uppity Awards 2022

The Uppity Awards started by the Uptown Standard Newspaper to recognize individuals and
organizations that have made a direct impact in the lives of residents in the Uptown section of
Philadelphia which includes the neighborhoods of: Mount Airy, Germantown, West Oak Lane, East Oak Lane, Cedarbrook, East Germantown, Fern Rock, and Ogontz.

This year’s Uppity Awards will take place on October 1, 2022, at the Commodore Barry Club in Mt. Airy.

2022 Winners
Hairstylist- Traci Hilton
Barber- Toot Da Barber
Educator- Marcus Fulton
Coach- Anthony Bishop
FAME’ Eric “EA” Allen
NonProfit- Men who Care of Germantown
People’s Choice Award- Toot Da Barber

Hall of Fame- Jay Fresh, Stephen Kinsey, DJ Gary O, and Mike Blount

Change Makers- Tiffany Gay, Rowena Lynne Faulk, Father Chris Walsh, Fareed Abudllah, Jaelyn Monroe, Joe Budd, Ericka Stewart, Shanae Christian

2021 Winners
Hairstylist- RaSheena Stewart
Barber- Kenny “Ebo” Bolling
Educator- Keisha Wilkins
Coach- Malik Jones
Change Maker- Ron Murray
NonProfit- The Blue Elephant Project
People Choice Award- Rob “The Gov” Holman
Legacy Award- Miles Roberts
Public Servant- Isaiah Thomas